38 Comments

I’m totally with you Helen! I’ve been binging My Favourite Murder, which feels weird at first, but you get weirdly inured to all the murder! I love Happier with Gretchin Rubin, which she hosts with her sister, for the sheer positivity of it! I’ve listened from the very beginning! And I’ve also been binging One Sweet Dream about the breakup of the Beatles!! So many more, but those spring to mind! I do like an audiobook while I work too! I’m just re-listening to Jeeves and Wooster, which is fun, cheering and easy to listening to. What-ho! Do you do audiobooks as well? X

Expand full comment

Aaaagh! Stop all this madness! Reading through these comments and I want t listen to them all!! (Not the geezers though, will skip on that 😂) I need to save this list somehow somewhere so I don’t forget all the new listens to try out!!

Expand full comment

I LOVE Kathy Burke's podcast and Uncanny has been on my listening list for ages, those others are fantastic suggestions! I also sometimes struggle to listen to podcasts on creative subjects while I'm working, it's so odd! I save them for long car journeys instead.

Expand full comment

I love My Favourite Murder too! Serial is also brilliant, particularly the first season. I like that it’s all about one particular case so you get really engrossed. Unravelled about the Long Island Serial Killer is (understandably) disturbing but very well done. Then for a bit of light relief Off Menu and This American Life.

Expand full comment
May 3, 2023Liked by Helen Stephens

I’m a Betwixter too. I adore Kate Lister. I enjoy a good investigation so have been enjoying The Lazarus Heist (what North Korean hackers get up to), the Missing Crypto Queen (the woman who founded the bogus crypto One Coin). There’s one about Theranos founder Elizabeth Holmes, but can’t remember what it was called. Also just started Who Steals a Banksy although I’m finding the chap involved really irritating - a bit too geezerish for me.

Expand full comment

Haha!! Yes I love it!! I totally understand what you mean about creative/illustration podcasts! They get me all excited and fill my head with even more ideas (which I don’t need while I’m drawing because my head is already overflowing 😂😂) having said that, I do listen to lots of them but have to have a balance...

when I’m needing to lose myself in the work at hand, I listen to audible books - loooong epic fantasy novel series are my favourites as they last ages and I don’t get that bereft feeling when the book is over 😆

Expand full comment
May 3, 2023Liked by Helen Stephens

Ooh I can’t listen to The Uncanny it gives me the willies! And they put it on the radio at 11pm just as I’m going to sleep!! 😱 I can recommend Between the Ears and Jarvis Cocker’s Wireless Nights - always eclectic and interesting

Expand full comment

Has anyone got any good conspiracy podcast recommendations?

Expand full comment

Oh I almost have too many to list! My top faves are:

- You’re Dead to me, (witty history stories)

- Cautionary Tales (interesting events in history and the lessons to be learnt)

- Atlas Obsurca (15 min stories about interesting places around the world)

- 99% invisible (exploring the overlooked aspects of design in society)

- Sidedoor (stories from the Smithsonian)

- The Kitchen Sisters Present (random stories. A recent one was a mesmerizing story about a man who collected over 30k sounds recordings or daily life)

and my #1 fave is Chat 10 Looks 3 (2 female Australian journalists who discuss books, movies and just have a general chat and a laugh. Its like have a drink with friends)

Expand full comment

I have a strange love for Reality TV recap podcasts! I’ll watch the show (sometimes fun to draw to) and then listen to people talk about it. 90-Day Bae & Reality Gays are my top two favorites.

Expand full comment
May 3, 2023Liked by Helen Stephens

I'm the same. I like my historical murder shows lol and typically need a humorous slant to them as it just sounds like eavesdropping on a funny conversation while working. "My Favorite murder", "Last Podcast on the Left", and "the Dollop" are my go-tos.

Expand full comment
May 3, 2023Liked by Helen Stephens

I'm a big Uncanny fan. Just booked tickets to see it live. The Rest is Politics and The News Agents are my top listens.

Expand full comment

I’m another creativity podcasts in the car kind of person - esp CreativePepTalk and sometimes Moms who create ... although I can happily listen to the Good Ship illo podcast / zoom recordings when I’m drawing - it’s like drawing with friends 😅 As the Season Turns is a lovely podcast too.

Love an audiobook though! ‘Rivers of London’, Neil Haiman’s ‘Norse Mythology’, ‘Mistborn Trilogy’, ‘Parasol Protectorate’ ‘Finishing School’ series, Gail Carriger, Harry Potter ...

Expand full comment